top of page

Thank You, Mom and Dad


In the midst of the many all-nighters, exams, club meetings, and volunteering, it can be difficult to find time for people you really care about. For me, that’s my loud, goofy family of 5.

During this academically stressful week, I took some time to reflect on where I am today and who I couldn’t have made it here without. So, to my parents: I need to truly thank you, something I don’t think I’ve appropriately done to date.

Disclaimer: I am not listing this in any particular order; I love you both equally, I PROMISE – okay, keep reading :)

Dad, thank you for reminding me what I’m capable of, especially during times I start to doubt myself. For believing that I have the talent to reach my goals.

Mom, thank you for making me realize that I’m worth everything in this world. For taking care of my well-being, so that I can pursue a career taking care of others.

Dad, thank you for understanding when I take a leap of faith. For supporting me in my journey even if it doesn’t seem logical at times. For trusting my decisions and hearing me out.

Mom, thank you for listening. For letting me excitedly ramble about words like “anastomosis” and “lateral wall ischemia,” even if they were far from what you wanted to hear about during our family dinners.

Dad, thank you for showing me what hard work truly looks like. For showing me that nothing comes easy but reassuring me that it will all pay off one day.

Mom, thank you for sharing your love of life, sense of humor, excitement for every experience, and courage to look fear directly in the face until it backs down.

To both of my parents, thank you for being my number one fans. For reading my blog posts before anyone else. For always being proud of me. For working so hard, so that I can have this amazing life.

As I navigate this journey to become a doctor, I realize that there will always be work to do, but I have a limited amount of time that I’ll be able to spend with my family. Physicians are often overwhelmed with clinical responsibilities, and it can be difficult to attain that golden work-life balance. Difficult, but not impossible.

So, take a moment to examine your life and make the decision to do more of the things that illuminate you. Take the time to thank the people who support you and cherish the moments you get to spend with family and friends.

I’d like to think that I will always look at those “M.D.” letters for what they truly represent, “Mom and Dad.” Right behind me, like they’ve always been and always will be.

 



56,512 views
bottom of page